Monaco, officially the Principality of Monaco is an independent and sovereign country located on the northern coast of the Mediterranean Sea.

It is surrounded on land by its neighbor France, and Italy’s borders are just 10 miles away (about 16km).

Its area is 0.76mi² (1.98 km²) with a population of almost 38,100 inhabitants (2019) - among which 8,378 are Monegasque citizens - and including residents from 125 nationalities. Monaco is the second smallest country in the world and the smallest member of the United Nations. Monaco is the world’s most densely populated country with approximately 18,750 inhabitants/km².

The house of Grimaldi has ruled over Monaco since 1297. Monaco’s sovereignty was officially and permanently recognized by the Franco/Monegasque Treaty of 1861.

Furthermore, Monaco is one of 5 European "micro-States" (the others being: Andorra, Liechtenstein, Malta, and Vatican City).


Description: carte-de-MONACO.gifMonte-Carlo is a district of Monaco whose total area has been peacefully extended by 20% in reclaiming land from the sea.

The Official Language is French. However, Monegasque, Italian, and English are also widely understood and spoken.

After the 2016 national census, more than 125 nationalities are represented in Monaco amongst which 300 Americans and more them 200 Canadians.

The Euro (EUR, €) was introduced January 1st, 2002 as the same as many European Countries.

Catholicism is the official State Religion however every religion is accepted in the Principality and religious freedom is protected by Monegasque law.

Monaco is governed under a form of constitutional hereditary monarchy.
His Serene Highness Prince Albert II is the Chief of State.

The present Minister of State is His Excellency Pierre Dartout.

The literacy rate of the population is almost 100%